A Finnish Christmas

Find information on places to go, things to see, eating out, Finnish food, recipes and more
423march

A Finnish Christmas

Post by 423march » Tue Oct 25, 2011 11:40 am

Hello, quite a bit early but Season's Greetings.
I'm looking for ideas/must does for Christmas!

I'm an exchange student living in the Helsinki area, unfortunately staying for only 1 year. Since we don't really celebrate Christmas in Japan (and because it costs too much to fly back), I'm looking into spending Christmas/New Years here. I'm not too bright on the 'proper' Christmas at all, which is why I'm asking here, to hopefully get some help from people before I do anything wrong and/or offensive ;)

I've noticed many 'Christmas parties' held around early December and Christmas markets (possibly for tourists?) going on in various places, but not on the 25th.

I'm not sure what the Finnish/Western normality is, but in Japan where I believe we value New Years like the Western Christmas, New Years is usually spent at home with family, or at a shrine/temple. The former option, I do have a several Finnish friends - but it would be down right rude to ask to join a family's New Years in Japan, so I'm assuming the same in European Christmas. The latter option, I have no problems with going to any religious facility (with respect, of course), but I'm not sure if Church events are open to non-Christians, nor if they even do anything on Christmas that is OK for anyone to join.

I'm well interested in Classical music, kansanmusiikki/tanhu, ballets, operas, art galleries, theatre and such, but not so much in pubs/clubs/discos etc, although I am willing to try anything :D
And I am up to traveling within Finland as well :lightbulb:

It would be wonderful to hear ideas and experiences!
Thank you in advance!

A Finnish Christmas

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

Hpslm

Re: A Finnish Christmas

Post by Hpslm » Tue Oct 25, 2011 2:40 pm