A visit to the motherland - Help planning my special trip

Find information on places to go, things to see, eating out, Finnish food, recipes and more
baiki

Post by baiki » Sun Aug 26, 2012 5:17 am

I am a Finnish Sami American and just booked my flights from San Francisco, California to Finland for two weeks in June 2013!

I am SO excited to visit the country where my family came from and really connect with my history! Let me tell you, the sauna lives on in America! My partner and I are planning to spend some time in Helsinki touring the city, visiting consignment shops, trying new food, museums + art etc... and then we will travel north to Inari (maybe other places too on the way up north) to enjoy the natural surroundings, relax, see the Sami Parliament and the cultural museum.

I am an artist and we both enjoy great food and history. We are really flexible and open to activities and ways to travel (plane, train, car, bike).
We would be most appreciative of any advice and/or suggestions of interesting places/ activities to make our trip to Finland very special :) Thank you!

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

rinso

Re: A visit to the motherland - Help planning my special tri

Post by rinso » Sun Aug 26, 2012 6:49 am

I am a Finnish Sami American
In that case you should visit Artikum in Rovaniemi.
http://www.visitrovaniemi.fi/In-English/Sights

baiki

Post by baiki » Sun Aug 26, 2012 7:30 am

Thank you, rinso :)

This is just the sort of thing we were hoping to be pointed to! I'm looking into Rovaniemi and museum now, per your suggestion. Very exciting!

Jukka Aho

Post by Jukka Aho » Sun Aug 26, 2012 8:33 am

Check out this post for some useful local services and keywords. It’s a bit Helsinki-centric but if you click on the Finnish words, you could replace “Helsinki” in the search box with a Finnish city of your choice — such as Rovaniemi or any other place you are going to visit.