End date on a 'right to reside' paper

How to? Read other's experiences. Find useful advice on shipping, immigration, residence permits, visas and more.
tampereblue

Post by tampereblue » Thu Mar 24, 2005 11:11 pm

I got my paper through from the police station last month, I though 'no problem, great, now I have the papers I need'...but when I went to Kela the lady I spoke to about registering with them said she had never seen an EU citizen (married to a Finn) who had an end date on their 'right to reside'.

Will they kick me out in 2010, which is the date on my paper? I hope not..

Anyone else seen the same thing?

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

mookoo

Post by mookoo » Fri Mar 25, 2005 10:29 am

So you are saying you got your Finnish citizenship? But they put an end date on it? That sounds odd for sure. My first residence permit is still processing, so I have no experience with that yet ... but I hope they don't kick you out! :ohno: And I hope they don't kick me out either!

Richard

Post by Richard » Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:09 am

I'm an EU Citizen (UK) and married to a Finn, I applied 3 years ago and got a 5 year residency permit in the form of a card. This is usual as far as I know, that first You get a fixed Term permit, then after 2 years, you can apply for permanent residency if you desire.

Niraniel

Post by Niraniel » Tue Mar 29, 2005 9:15 pm

I don't know the practice, but I studied last year some EU law at the University and, more or less, is this way:

You apply for the residence permit (you need your ID or passport and need to proove you have a work or are going to search one or that you have enough money to mantain yourself) which has a validity for 5 years, and, as a general rule, it's going to be renewed automatically for the same period, so nobody is going to be kick out.