Is fluency in Finnish enough to get an RP?

How to? Read other's experiences. Find useful advice on shipping, immigration, residence permits, visas and more.
star3098

Post by star3098 » Sun Jan 11, 2015 5:58 am

Hi there guys, I currently reside in Russia, however I am getting more and more frustrated and disillusioned with it day by day. I have unfinished tertiary education in my stock and by profession I'm what you might call a "freelancer". I don't know if it is important or not, but I am a Ukrainian national and I am not very happy about current Russian Government's brinkmanship type politics, but by the same token neither am I happy about the politics of some Western countries. I am also fluent, competent, proficient, literate and grammatical in Estonian, howbeit seeing how Finnish and Estonian are closely related with each other, what with both of them hailing from the same Finnic language family, I don't reckon it to be a "stretch" for me to become all of the above in Finnish in a rather short period of time.

And then again I don't know whether it matters or not, but I am fluent in a number of Slavic languages (Ukrainian, Belorussian, Bulgarian, Serbian to list a few) and I can also get by in almost all of the Germanic languages (except Icelandic), and I have a fleeting familiarity with some of the Romance languages.

I plan to move to Finland to finish the work of my life in the field of economics and philosophy.

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

Beep_Boop

Re: Is fluency in Finnish enough to get an RP?

Post by Beep_Boop » Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:27 am

No,
However, looking at the number of languages you know, I would say that it might be possible for you to get some sort of teaching position in some institutes that offer language courses if you acquire some good qualifications.
Your other option is to apply for a study program in which you're interested.