Moving from Scotland

How to? Read other's experiences. Find useful advice on shipping, immigration, residence permits, visas and more.
CGB

Moving from Scotland

Post by CGB » Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:28 pm

Hello all.

I'm a carpenter to trade but have been working in the Airport Fire service for the last 3 years. I've already spent one year working in Finland doing Log house renovations whilst living with my girlfriend.

We are planning on moving in May from Scotland, getting married in August then looking to buy a house when the dust settles. We have been saving in OP ASP account for our mortgage down payment. Hoping to buy a log house around Orimattila area and renovate for sub £100k

The airport I work at is a small one, so I am qualified in other airfield ops such as fuelling, marshalling, wildlife patrols. I have a security supervisor qualification and I am also certified to watch manage the fire service at any airport but lack experience above CAT 4 movements.

I don't expect to get any work in the fire service as my Finnish is basic atm. However, would there be any chance of me getting an Airfield Ops job at Vantaa?

If not then I'll be going it alone doing wood work again. I might have the odd job with my old boss but he recommends I start my own company so I can find my own work when he can't sub-contract me. Could anyone point me in the right direction as to how I start this process?

Cheers!

Moving from Scotland

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

rinso

Re: Moving from Scotland

Post by rinso » Tue Sep 08, 2015 8:36 am

I don't expect to get any work in the fire service as my Finnish is basic atm. However, would there be any chance of me getting an Airfield Ops job at Vantaa?
For many governmental jobs (fire service) Finnish nationality is a requirement (or at least strongly appreciated)

CGB

Post by CGB » Tue Sep 08, 2015 2:11 pm

Thanks for the replys. Yeah I thought my chances were slim to none at the airport.