visa and work permits-help

How to? Read other's experiences. Find useful advice on shipping, immigration, residence permits, visas and more.
El Exiliado

Post by El Exiliado » Wed May 11, 2005 12:25 am

Hi there!

I have been reading all the requirements for applying a Visa to go to Finland, trying to see what exactly do I need according to my situation. The Embassy webpage of Finland in my country (Argentina) is quite clear in which things are needed for each case, but actually the problem is that I can not say exactly which is my case…

My situation is that I have a invitation letter to participate in a research project in the University of Helsinki (I’m a biologist), founded by the Academy of Finland. It says that includes founding for myself for four month (including travel and accommodation). Everything very nice actually.

But I have not clear two things, if I will be really “working” there, with a contract and all, in which case I will need a working permit and a confirmation from the Ministry of Work form Finland. Or if it is more like a scholarship or a grant, in which case I only have to present the letter.

I also ask because I had almost the same situation with an invitation to Austria, and in that just simply went to the Embassy and ask what did I need. But when I get Austria I had a big mess because they told me that I was needing a different visa. So now I want to be sure of what kind of visa and permit do I need.

Well I hope someone can give me some advice in this. I search in the forum first but seems that most of you are EU citizens or form other countries that don’t need so much things, or were going to work in a company in a clear situation.

Thank you very much in advance!!

Alfredo

PD: sorry for the length :oops:

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

Hank W.
The Motorhead

Post by Hank W. » Wed May 11, 2005 12:31 am

If the academy pays, just ask for a residence permit for the 4 months. Not visa - visa is to come in, permit is to stay here.