Questions about residence permit.

How to? Read other's experiences. Find useful advice on shipping, immigration, residence permits, visas and more.
loki4000

Post by loki4000 » Sun May 01, 2016 10:16 am

Greetings
I am a student at in metropolia university.
I have started my studies last year and currently have addres (HOAS housing).
I have certain questions about residence permit.
I am aware that these questions might seem basic. But I find information regardin them a bit confusing.

1.I have currently permanent residence permit in Estonia (allow to move freely around EU). My friends from Finland told me that apart from work, this should have been sufficient to move into Finland, rent a room and study. But then my study coordinator told me to immediately go for residene permit. So I am a bit confused, how serious is it?

2.I hear that if you did not register right away you need to pay fine. What is the fine for 9 month?

3.I can provide an extract from a bank account showing that I spennd in average 800 euro per month
for the last 6-9 month. will it suffice as proof of my sufficient income?

4.Does police registration last forever or do you need to reaply every few years?

5.I have relative (one of the parents) who is EU citizen. Can it help somehow?

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

betelgeuse

Re: Questions about residence permit.

Post by betelgeuse » Sun May 01, 2016 2:34 pm

loki4000 wrote: 1.I have currently permanent residence permit in Estonia (allow to move freely around EU). My friends from Finland told me that apart from work, this should have been sufficient to move into Finland, rent a room and study. But then my study coordinator told me to immediately go for residene permit. So I am a bit confused, how serious is it?
The Estonian permit only allows you to come to Finland as a tourist with the 90 days in 180 days rule.
loki4000 wrote: 2.I hear that if you did not register right away you need to pay fine. What is the fine for 9 month?