Post doc salary, living expenses and savings

Useful advice relating to undergraduate and postgraduate studying. Find information on admission, study permits, universities, polytechnics, courses and student life in Finland
saimanoj18

Post by saimanoj18 » Sat Sep 16, 2017 6:21 pm

Hello Everyone,

This is Sai and few months back I finished my PhD in Singapore.

I recently saw an opening for Post doctoral candidate in Tampere University in Finland. I am considering to apply for it. But before that I would like to know how much roughly they generally pay for Post doc...and how much would be tax, living expenses and how much we can save.

I m single now but how much would be expenses to have a family or may be bring parents over... Can we sustain and may be save a bit with the post doctoral pay ?

How is it, regarding work and people and job opportunities there.
I work in the field of mobile robotics and computer vision.
When I was studying in undergraduate, I was always amazed by Finland and I am curious to know more and may be consider going there if possible :)

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

Querfeldein

Re: Post doc salary, living expenses and savings

Post by Querfeldein » Sun Sep 17, 2017 10:34 am

It will depend on the source of funding (ERC / Marie Curie tends to be higher, for example, than University's own funds), your experience and, to some degree, negotiation (but that is very limited, and is just about what level you will be entered). I would expect around 3500-4000€ / month before tax. There are some posts here discussing taxes, that will depend on your circumstances, so please look that up. There are also various threads about living expenses - the answer is most likely "it depends". You may also have to check if you can legally bring your family, I don't know about that.

AnnikaL

Post by AnnikaL » Sun Sep 17, 2017 3:34 pm