Getting calls from the US

Where to buy? Where can I find? How do I? Getting started.
Post Reply
User avatar
eashton
Posts: 670
Joined: Mon May 05, 2003 3:06 pm
Location: Helsinki
Contact:

Getting calls from the US

Post by eashton » Mon Oct 27, 2003 7:58 pm

Does anyone else have problems with phone calls from the US sounding either buzzy, faint or like one of those reporters on the wire for CNN in war zones where there is a 5 second lag? My mother and my sister both have the most awful connections when they call me, but when I call them right back from here, the connection is so clear it's as though they're next door.

Since the call is so clear in at least one direction I wonder if calls from the US aren't being reduced in quality by some other means.....



Getting calls from the US

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic
 

dusty_bin
Posts: 2208
Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 10:56 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Post by dusty_bin » Mon Oct 27, 2003 8:33 pm

Aren't all incoming calls to Finland recorded as a matter of course?

I always assumed that was the reason why call quality was poor, the monitoring circuits kicking in sometimes causes an echo and poor quality.


User avatar
eashton
Posts: 670
Joined: Mon May 05, 2003 3:06 pm
Location: Helsinki
Contact:

Post by eashton » Mon Oct 27, 2003 9:18 pm

dusty_bin wrote:Aren't all incoming calls to Finland recorded as a matter of course?

I always assumed that was the reason why call quality was poor, the monitoring circuits kicking in sometimes causes an echo and poor quality.
Uh...by whom? Finns don't have Eschelon, the US does. It would be illegal in Finland but not in the US.

So, you have had this problem with incoming calls from the US too?


dusty_bin
Posts: 2208
Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 10:56 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Post by dusty_bin » Mon Oct 27, 2003 10:38 pm

No just trolling... sorry


User avatar
eashton
Posts: 670
Joined: Mon May 05, 2003 3:06 pm
Location: Helsinki
Contact:

Post by eashton » Mon Oct 27, 2003 11:24 pm

dusty_bin wrote:No just trolling... sorry
Well, why didn't you add 'socialist pig' into the mix just for grins then? :)

Seriously, I doubt anyone would want to record my mother nattering on about my dying 98 year old great aunt...but it is really annoying to have such poor quality connections from the US and it has been this way since I arrived, but I have no problems on calls that I make to the US. I'm wondering if AT&T just sucks and routes all calls through 5 different satellites or something and if anyone else has had this problem.


dusty_bin
Posts: 2208
Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 10:56 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Post by dusty_bin » Tue Oct 28, 2003 1:25 am

OK then, seriously! ;)

Much international traffic is routed as VOIP these days. Some carriers squeeze more data through their pipes than others. I am sure this is not news to you, although the degree to which it occurs might be a shock. Many US based calling plans are very inexpensive and quality suffers. In Finland, we tend to pay more and I have noticed we get better quality.

I bet that if you asked your aged rello to hang up and recall that the quality would be better next time round. That is all I do, if I have a bad line and I have had the echoing and buzzing on calls to the UK, Spain, Estonia and Russia. BTW I know I am using VOIP though. (AFAIK all the cheaper Finnish plans also use VOIP)

Socialist Pig!


User avatar
eashton
Posts: 670
Joined: Mon May 05, 2003 3:06 pm
Location: Helsinki
Contact:

Post by eashton » Tue Oct 28, 2003 10:29 am

dusty_bin wrote:OK then, seriously! ;)

Much international traffic is routed as VOIP these days. Some carriers squeeze more data through their pipes than others. I am sure this is not news to you, although the degree to which it occurs might be a shock. Many US based calling plans are very inexpensive and quality suffers. In Finland, we tend to pay more and I have noticed we get better quality.

I bet that if you asked your aged rello to hang up and recall that the quality would be better next time round. That is all I do, if I have a bad line and I have had the echoing and buzzing on calls to the UK, Spain, Estonia and Russia. BTW I know I am using VOIP though. (AFAIK all the cheaper Finnish plans also use VOIP)

Socialist Pig!
No, I pay less for my cell phone long distance than my mother does for US long-distance. If I call her, the connection is crystal clear, every single time. However, when she calls and re-calls me from the US, no matter what time of day the call varies from very poor quality to impossible to talk over the loud buzzing.

I just think that's really odd since it happens with my sisters as well. I suppose I'll just eat the LD charges as getting a decent conversation on calls from the US is just impossible...I suppose I should win the lotto soon since us socialist pigs aren't terribly rich.


User avatar
SGaudreau
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 3:54 pm
Location: Helsinki, Fi
Contact:

Post by SGaudreau » Tue Oct 28, 2003 4:00 pm

I have encountered the poor quality lines when I dail one of those "cheaper" calling card numbers in advance on my mobile. When I dial directly to Finland on my mobile, the call is always crystal clear (AT&T Wireless).

I have found that using that 10-10-987 service in the US on a land line to call my spouse's mobile phone provides 1.) really clear calling...2.) MUCH MUCH cheaper phone calls. I am not a salesperson for these people, but I have already informed my family to use it when I move. I talked for about 2 hours on 1 call and it cost me about $4 (US) to natter on and on... not a bad deal since my mobile bills were inching toward 800 USD... UGH...

Just my 2.3 cents


Guest

Post by Guest » Tue Oct 28, 2003 7:47 pm

Didn't we have a thread on this before?
Everything's monitored and if you use certain keywords (Hank, you know this place by heart, where's the thread?), you're gonna be busted... :wink:


dusty_bin
Posts: 2208
Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 10:56 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Post by dusty_bin » Tue Oct 28, 2003 8:04 pm

Yep! That is Echelon, a joint US/British project based in part in the UK. It is a system for monitoring ALL European telephone calls, fax transmissions and telex. It uses keywords to pick out conversations to monitor or record. Used not only for military purposes but, allegedly, also for commercial intelligence. Ask the French about that, they do not trust us at all on this one!


Guest

Post by Guest » Tue Oct 28, 2003 8:10 pm

dusty_bin wrote:Yep! That is Echelon, a joint US/British project based in part in the UK. It is a system for monitoring ALL European telephone calls, fax transmissions and telex. It uses keywords to pick out conversations to monitor or record. Used not only for military purposes but, allegedly, also for commercial intelligence. Ask the French about that, they do not trust us at all on this one!
Excuse me on this one, but really... Who DO the french trust? :wink:


dusty_bin
Posts: 2208
Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 10:56 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Post by dusty_bin » Tue Oct 28, 2003 8:20 pm

Well they have good reason NOT to trust the Brits and Americans. I mean, they help the Americans to win independence. The Americans then forget and don't even bother to mention it it the history books and then go around calling the Frogs 'Surrender Monkeys'. We Brits just go round stitching them up with world wars and aircraft that nobody wants to buy! ;)


Guest

Post by Guest » Tue Oct 28, 2003 8:26 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

Ok... Maybe you have a point... :lol:


moi
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 2:00 am
Location: NJ USA

Eashton have mom try 1010297

Post by moi » Mon Nov 03, 2003 5:03 am

i use 4 different calling plans to call my wife who is in finland. Sometimes it is frust rating especially weekdays in the late afternoon. That is when the East is squeazing calls in at the end of the day and every business is open clear to the west. That is a lot of phone calls and internet usage on this side so getting a clear path out is hard.

1010297 fron a home phine is cheap and usually pretty good on both sides. I am sure your plan in finland is not cheaper (for a 10 minute call). How does this sound: $1.39 the first minute and only 3 cents a minute after that. This gets billed straight to the regular phone bill.

I hope this helps.
Rich


dusty_bin
Posts: 2208
Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 10:56 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Post by dusty_bin » Mon Nov 03, 2003 2:03 pm

Sounds expensive...

Net2phone is just 5 cents per minute, no higher charges in the first minute, so you would have to rabbit for quite a time to even out the first minute charge... But that is using the PC as a phone.
Using the Net2phone calling card is 17 cents per minute and so is much more costly.

I loves my computer though!


Post Reply