80 Euro Fine

Where to buy? Where can I find? How do I? Getting started.
hmu18

80 Euro Fine

Post by hmu18 » Thu Feb 27, 2014 12:33 pm

So I'm an exchange student and I was taking the train from Hämeenlinna to Helsinki. I didn't have time to buy my ticket before the train came (the station doesn't have very many ticket sale machines and the office is slow) so I got on the train with the intention to buy my ticket there. I fell asleep (dumb, I know), missed the conductor, and when the inspectors came they woke me up and refused to let me buy a ticket, instead issuing me an 80 euro fine.
I gave them my student visa as ID, but the birthdate is wrong. The penalty form he gave me has my full name, my incorrect birthday, and nothing else. I went to the office to try to explain to the worker there what happened, and she did not waive the fee. However, I have absolutely no income here and only receive about 80 euros a month. She gave me an extra month to pay the fine, but I also leave the country at the end of June (so in 4 months). I'm wondering if the fee is worth paying. Is this the kind of thing they'll be able to track down, or force me to pay after I've left the country?

80 Euro Fine

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

rinso

Re: 80 Euro Fine

Post by rinso » Thu Feb 27, 2014 3:18 pm

Within the EU there are systems to collect fines in other countries. I don't know if they include tickets from VR.
Also unpaid fines might end up on a list at the passport control.
my student visa as ID, but the birthdate is wrong
This could be considered as fraud.

Better safe than sorry, pay the fine.

Upphew

Post by Upphew » Fri Feb 28, 2014 7:47 am

roger_roger wrote:These sending bills, sending warnings, bill collector's biil, bill collector's legal threat and asking date in court will take 3-4 years in total for court to say you have to pay fine, in that time you'll obviously be earning good money and the total fine would be 100 (in case you loose the case and you have to pay).