Quantity Surveyors in Finland?

Useful advice on jobs, careers and entrepreneurship in Finland. Find job postings, job information, work permits and more.
lankygerman

Post by lankygerman » Fri Apr 18, 2008 12:21 pm

I'm looking to move to Finland for the usual reasons. I'm a Quantity Surveyor (Construction Cost Manager/Contract Administrator) and would really like to continue that career when I move.

I can't find any comparable jobs advertised and am planning to start applying speculatively and I could really use some advice from anyone who has successfully moved from the English industry to the Finnish one.

1) Are my skills directly transferable to the Finnish construction industry?

2) What sort of companies would employ an individual who currently speaks very little Finnish?

3) Will my lack of a construction qualification hinder my applications significantly?

4) Realistically, should I go to Finland try to study engineering and the language for 5 years whilst raising my kids as a house husband and then think about starting my career again from the bottom?

Thanks Gavin

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

rinso

Re: Quantity Surveyors in Finland?

Post by rinso » Fri Apr 18, 2008 6:21 pm

1- probably not
2- probably none
3- probably yes
4- this is your most likely future perspective if you come to Finland (based on this limited information)

I don't want to sound negative, but most foreigners find it difficult to continue their careers here without Finnish skills.
And I think that Construction Cost Manager/Contract Administrator is not the kind of job where employers are eager to hire a non Finnish speaker.

sinikala

Post by sinikala » Fri Apr 18, 2008 6:37 pm

There are a lot of German / French engineers at Olkiluoto III, and much of the labour was Polish.