Taking the first steps

Useful advice on jobs, careers and entrepreneurship in Finland. Find job postings, job information, work permits and more.
Skywalker

Taking the first steps

Post by Skywalker » Fri Aug 08, 2008 11:01 am

Ok , ive been here for nearly 7 months now and i've been luckily enough to get work, and i am now a freelancer. But for along time now i've wanted to have my own company, and i'm now deciding to just go for it.
My profession is as a scenic carpenter and propmaker. I build/design sets for tv shows, films, music videos, commercials, pretty much anything. I also design and make props for the same areas, i make replica items from films and games (im currently working on a replica of the ironman helmet). I can design/make props out of polystyrene, latex,foam, fibreglass, pretty much any medium. I know i have the skills and the drive to make this business work ,there is a pretty big market in Finland, and an even bigger market in the rest of Europe.
What im looking for is a business partner to join me in this venture. Now im not talking about meeting someone for a pint and then just starting work, it will take a little while for me to find the right person.

Ok so thats pretty much the basics of my side of it for now. If your interested and want to talk to me more about it then please feel free to PM and we can go from there. But there are a few things that im looking for from a person or peoples who are interested.

1) You must have some skills in all or some or the following, Carpentry/sculpting/glass fibre use/painting/design/AutoCAD/3DS max/photoshop etc... (if your skill isn't listed here and you think its worth contacting me , please do)
2) Preferably i would like someone who either does or has done work in the entertainments industry
3) have a passion for the arts and a good creative eye
4) Reasonable leadership skills, be outgoing and be comfortable talking to people
5)You must know at least some Finnish and have a desire to learn more