UK CITIZEN - HOPING TO MOVE TO FINLAND

Useful advice on jobs, careers and entrepreneurship in Finland. Find job postings, job information, work permits and more.
Howie2014

Post by Howie2014 » Fri May 02, 2014 4:24 pm

Hello People

I am a UK Citizen and I am very much desirous of moving to Finland. Would prefer Esposs or Helsinki.

Despite the harsh winters - I am really up for the challenge especially the fact that this could be compensated by the Finnish sauna culture.

Question is: how easy / hard would it be for me to secure a job in finland as an English speaker. I will of course start lessons in Finnish bit what would my chances be like?

I am a scientist and also a Management Assistant (Personal Secretary).

Thanks

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

rinso

Re: UK CITIZEN - HOPING TO MOVE TO FINLAND

Post by rinso » Sat May 03, 2014 7:09 am

Question is: how easy / hard would it be for me to secure a job in finland as an English speaker.
It depends on your other qualities, field of education, experience, degrees, skill set and so on. And most important your contacts in Finland.
I am a scientist
Bachelors, Masters, Phd, which science?
Management Assistant (Personal Secretary).
Probably fluent Finnish needed and a lot of experience with the Finnish system, culture and regulations.

Howie2014

Post by Howie2014 » Mon May 26, 2014 10:13 pm

Thanks for all you replies.

I have Bsc in Pharmacology. I also worked in Forensic Toxicology.

What other options would you suggest in my quest for working in Finland especially considering the language barrier.

Upphew

Post by Upphew » Tue May 27, 2014 6:54 pm

Howie2014 wrote:Despite the harsh winters - I am really up for the challenge especially the fact that this could be compensated by the Finnish sauna culture.
Houses are heated, you wear clothes outside (or don't go outside), problem solved.

http://naurunappula.com/1202714/tyamiasten-mysteeri.jpg