Jobs in shifts and how they should work

Useful advice on jobs, careers and entrepreneurship in Finland. Find job postings, job information, work permits and more.
-XD-

Post by -XD- » Fri May 02, 2014 11:33 pm

Hey all!
I've been working for a Finnish company for over two years now, and I have a few things that I would like to hear some opinions about.

According to my contract, I should be working at least 10hours every three weeks. Officially though, I am usually working over 20 hours every week. I've had that contract since the beginning, and every time I asked to change the contract the answer that I got was that "'we can't give more of those 30- or 60-hours contracts now because we have too many employees and we're not sure we can fulfill them". However, they keep hiring new people, and offering to them these kinds of contracts. Is it normal to still have this contract after over two years during which I have been working much more hours?

Another one about the shifts. We are usually given shifts (normally based on our wishes) for a few weeks. When there are busier times, like last autumn, we are asked, sometimes even insistedly that "can you come tomorrow to work? I really need someone, you're my last option. At least come for a few hours", which usually means I'm there for about 8 hours anyway. During this spring, and especially this summer there won't be that much work to do, partly because there are summer workers who are unpaid and doing internships, so every time when there is not much work, we get a text in the morning (and that means around 6 in the morning, when the shift is supposed to be at 9) saying that we should stay home. Two of my shifts were cancelled in the last 10 days. Are there any rules about canceling shifts so often? It's really annoying to be waken up so early, just to be told to stay home..