Teaching and Tourism jobs in Finland

Useful advice on jobs, careers and entrepreneurship in Finland. Find job postings, job information, work permits and more.
Kombouto

Post by Kombouto » Sat Sep 13, 2014 7:52 pm

Hello everybody,
I'm a Spaniard in a relationship with a Finn and I'd like to ask you about our job prospects. Currently I have a job in Spain and my girlfriend is studying at university here, but we'd like to move in 3-4 years to Finland, as we think it's a better country to raise children.
I'm a History teacher (I also have a course of Spanish language teaching) with experience also in Tourism and sales. I speak Spanish, English, French, Italian and German, and this year I'll start with Finnish. So, what do you think my employment prospects could be there? My first option would naturally be teaching, could I teach Spanish (or History) without a perfect command of Finnish?

My girlfriend is studying Tourism at a state Spanish university, but I'm worried because she doesn't want to learn Russian. Does she still have a chance speaking Finnish, English and Spanish?

Thanks in advance for your answers.

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

Rosamunda

Re: Teaching and Tourism jobs in Finland

Post by Rosamunda » Sun Sep 14, 2014 8:52 am

I think your best bet for a teaching job would be in a University of Applied Science (AMK) many offer Bachelors degrees in tourism-related subjects taught in English. Languages would be a bonus. Having said that, the jobs are few and far between (some UAS are laying off staff).

To improve your chances of finding work, you could consider taking a diploma in Vocational Teacher Education (part-time and can be completed in 12 months if you already have a teaching qualification) which would give you a Finnish piece of paper and an insight into the Finnish system. HAMK, TAMK, Haaga.Helia etc offer courses.

rinso

Post by rinso » Sun Sep 14, 2014 9:42 am