Salary in R&D

Useful advice on jobs, careers and entrepreneurship in Finland. Find job postings, job information, work permits and more.
morengala

Salary in R&D

Post by morengala » Sat Sep 27, 2014 8:26 pm

Hi,

I have applied for a Research Scientist position (IT related) in a company located in Helsinki. I have been asked for the net monthly salary (yes, net and monthly) I'd like to have.
Could you give me any suggestions on the salary? I have never been in Finland, so I find quite difficult to estimate an adequate salary.

I have a post-doc and my PhD project was almost identical to their project, so I am honestly an excellent candidate for that position.

Thanks in Advance!

Morengala

Salary in R&D

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

cors187

Re: Salary in R&D

Post by cors187 » Sun Sep 28, 2014 12:13 am

in hand 2300euro month minimum(14.50hr), maybe 2800 in hand is possible(17.50hr)

morengala

Post by morengala » Sun Sep 28, 2014 12:33 pm

Thank you, cors187!

I guess the annual salary would be 12 times this monthly one, isn't it? Or should I also include an end-year bonus?

Beep_Boop

Post by Beep_Boop » Sun Sep 28, 2014 9:37 pm

Research scientist in an R&D department in an IT company, and 2300 EUR min? Are you kidding me?!
I work in an IT company in a small city in Finland and my salary is more than that, and I'm still a student. A friend of mine has started a junior position (web related) in Helsinki and his salary is 3300 EUR/month.

Morengala, how many years of experience do you have? What's your highest academic degree?
Every case is unique. You can't measure the result of your application based on arbitrary anecdotes online.

betelgeuse

Post by betelgeuse » Sun Sep 28, 2014 10:25 pm

morengala wrote:Thank you, cors187!

I guess the annual salary would be 12 times this monthly one, isn't it? Or should I also include an end-year bonus?