What is the Finnish job trial period length by law?

Useful advice on jobs, careers and entrepreneurship in Finland. Find job postings, job information, work permits and more.
madsum

Post by madsum » Tue Jul 10, 2018 5:32 pm

Hi,

I am a software engineer. Recently I decided to switch my job to a new company for the higher salary. I was offered a new job. But the hiring manager is saying that their company has a kind of undefined time of trial period. It could even take more than a year before they offer a permanent position. So I told him that there must be some Finnish law about job tail period duration. It can't be more than 5 - 6 months or some fixed duration.

But he said there is no such law. It depends on the company. There is no government law. I have no knowledge of Finnish law. So I couldn't argue at all. This is very surprising for me. Please share your thought about it. If you have any web link, please share it with me. Thanks in advance!

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

Beep_Boop

Re: What is the Finnish job trial period length by law?

Post by Beep_Boop » Tue Jul 10, 2018 6:14 pm

For your field, maximum trial period is 6 months. However, that doesn't require companies to offer permanent positions after those 6 months. It's up to agreement between you and the employer to decide on fixed-term employment vs. permanent employment. So your trial period cannot exceed the maximum 6 months, but they can still keep you on a fixed-term contract after that for as long as they want.

It's all here http://tietoala.fi/rauta/wp-content/upl ... 18_web.pdf

So, again, legally, they don't have any obligation to offer you a permanent position after 4 months, 6 months, 1 year, or even 5 years. Don't use the law to pressure them for that since there's no such law. What you need to use is leverage with your skills and value. If that doesn't suit you, you can tell them that you're not able to accept such offer and move on.