Tips for a Finnish beginner

Learn and discuss the Finnish language with Finn's and foreigners alike
ari

Post by ari » Mon Sep 22, 2003 12:02 am

Hei,

I've just discovered this group in my travels across the Internet for Finland / Finnish language resources.

I've been learning Finnish on and off for years (mostly as a child) and still am a complete beginner. As you would probably guest by my name, I do have some connection to Finnish....my mother is Finnish and I have lots and lots of family in Finland around the Kouvola area.

I live quite near to London. I have started some lessons, once a fortnight with the Finn-Guild, plus my self-study which I have been do for 6 months now and am progressing slowly....too slowly. My aim utilimately is to be able to speak Finnish fluently and live in Finland (Providing the job market improves, I work in I.T), but my first target is to be able communicate in some way then well enough to communicate comfortably to live in Finland....living in Finland without the ability to speak the language isn't an option, I have a tongue and would like to use it.

I'm thinking of attending the summer language course at Savonlinna next summer, has anyone attended this and recommend it?