Must Learn Finnish! Please Help.

Learn and discuss the Finnish language with Finn's and foreigners alike
laciethier

Post by laciethier » Sat Jan 14, 2012 3:42 am

Hello,

My name is Laci and I am from Canada. I am currently applying for undergraduate schooling in Finland. I have been learning Finnish since September of 2011. Although I have memorized some phrases, I feel I am still not getting it. It is difficult to learn when there is nobody else around that speaks the language. Not only that, but it is near impossible to find learning tools that go beyond conversations meant for just tourists. I want to gain an in depth knowledge of the language. Please help me...

If there is anybody who would be interested in spending time with me in order to teach me some Finnish via email or msn, please let me know.

I would be able to help anybody learning english as well.

Hope to hear from somebody. :)

Laci

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

tuulen

Re: Must Learn Finnish! Please Help.

Post by tuulen » Sat Jan 14, 2012 7:56 am

The truth is that nothing you know about English can help you to learn Finnish. They are two COMPLETELY different languages, in every way.

As an English speaker, you will need to study Finnish grammar, to see how the Finnish language gets put together, and works.

I recommend Finnish: An Essential Grammar, 2nd edition by Fred Karlsson, published internationally by Routledge, ISBN13: 978-0-415-43914-5

Leila White is another popular author, having written a series of Finnish language books, but her books must be imported to Canada, from Finland.

Due to copy right laws, the best Finnish grammars are available only as printed books, and that level of quality is not available online for free. So, buy the book!

After some study, you no doubt will have questions, and so go to the Kielikoulu (language school) forum, right here on the Finland Forum website: viewforum.php?f=9

Pursuivant

Post by Pursuivant » Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:15 am