Relocation as EU citizen

How to? Read other's experiences. Find useful advice on shipping, immigration, residence permits, visas and more.
sd1291

Relocation as EU citizen

Post by sd1291 » Sun Nov 26, 2023 2:14 pm

Hi,
I am a software developer and my wife is a molecular biologist and we would like to relocate to Finland with two kids in 2024. We are EU citizens (Hungarian) and currently living in Budapest, Hungary.
Theoretically, being EU citizens we do not have a visa to stay in Finland and have the right to work for up to 90 days. This 90 days can be extended permanently or temporally by getting a residence permit. Based on this, our original plan was to continue working in Hungary (we cannot afford quitting our jobs without a job offer from a Finnish company) and to apply for Finnish jobs and to get a job offer from home. When at least on of us have a Finnish job offer, we could move to Finland, get an address (by renting an apartment), henkilötunnuses, residence permits etc. So the key would be the Finnish job offer in this case. Sounds like a clear-cut story, right? We have good qualifications and the news are full (or at least were full before 2022) of the info that there is a huge demand in the Finnish labor market for qualified personnel. But things seem to be changed recently: 1) wars started 2) signs of global recession make companies reserved with hiring 3) new Finnish government is against immigration as such 4) AI hype burst (“AI will take our jobs…”). Do you agree that getting a Finnish job got significantly harder in the recent 2 years or it is just our perception?