Finnish Working Residence Permit Type A

How to? Read other's experiences. Find useful advice on shipping, immigration, residence permits, visas and more.
mikeking

Post by mikeking » Sat Apr 22, 2006 9:27 pm

Hi,

I am an non-EU IT professional working in a Finnish company, and since I have a permanent contract, so I was granted a A typed residence permit for 3 years (after I have renewed it once). What I'd like to know is, if someday I get out-of-job, will they revoke the residence permit or I can still stay until the expiring date? Is there anyone knows the answer? Though I am still having the job, but I'd like to know the answer. Thanks! :)

mikeking

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

mikeking

Post by mikeking » Sun Apr 23, 2006 11:11 am

Nobody knows the answer???

fileexit

Post by fileexit » Sun Apr 23, 2006 11:56 am

I vaguely remember discussing this issue when i was applying for the residence permit... the conclusion was, if you lose your job, just look for another one as long as it is in the same field (written on the permit). My permit says IT <and some finnish bla bla bla>. If you are not able to find any job during the 3 years, you will not be able to renew your residence... When you apply for renewal, you should show proof of current employment in the same field, if you don't have it, they won't renew. But they will not revoke your permit if you lose your job during the 3 years.. at least that is my understanding..
Anyway, it never hurts to pick up the phone and call the police. They won't arrest you :P

sy

Post by sy » Sun Apr 23, 2006 1:13 pm

According to the Aliens Act, Section 58, Paragraph 4:
A fixed-term residence permit may be cancelled if the grounds on which the permit was issued no longer exist. Another requirement for cancelling the permit is that the alien has resided legally in Finland for only a short time.