Maternity care for international student

Family life in Finland from kindergartens, child education, language schooling and everyday life. Share information and experiences. Network with other families.
nhithuc

Post by nhithuc » Thu Sep 17, 2015 12:22 am

Hi all

I have a question concerning my current pregnancy situation. I am an international student (study length 3,5 y and I'm in my second year) who is 4 months pregnant. As soon as I found out I was pregnant I called the Maternity Service to know if I had to pay for my maternity care and they said that as long as I had permanent address and social security number I didn't have to pay anything. Up to now I've got 3 check-up appointments with Neuvola, one ultrasound and several laboratory tests, all were free. But today i went through www.hus.fi (as in here: http://www.hus.fi/en/medical-care/medic ... fault.aspx), it states that only foreign mother who is having permanent residency can get (free) maternity service as Finnish mother, otherwise she needs to contact a private health care service.

So i'm confused now, am I considered permanent resident? As far as I know I'm not considered permanent resident, then why I got all the free maternity care in the last few months (some mistakes in the system)? Or free maternity care is applied also for international student who has a social security number? Does anyone have any experience or knowledge about this?

Thank you a lot for your time.

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

Tiwaz

Re: Maternity care for international student

Post by Tiwaz » Thu Oct 08, 2015 8:58 am

nhithuc wrote:Hi all