Seeking Families to Interview about Paid Family Leave

Family life in Finland from kindergartens, child education, language schooling and everyday life. Share information and experiences. Network with other families.
Caustic129

Post by Caustic129 » Wed Aug 17, 2016 11:57 pm

Hey all!
My name is Ashley and I am a student, artist, and mother based in Portland, Oregon, USA. I am currently working on a research project that addresses the issue regarding the lack of paid family leave in the United States, the only industrialized country on the planet that does not offer this resource.
I will be in Helsinki from September 8-12 and would love the opportunity to meet with a few families to discuss how having universal paid family leave in Finland has affected their lives as parents. The interview would be no longer than 30 minutes and I will gladly meet you wherever is convenient(and buy you coffee/lunch!). I would also love the chance to take portraits of participants with their family to be displayed at a workshop and art show we are holding at Portland State University in the fall.
If you are interesting in participating, please feel free to email me at [email protected]. look forward to learning more about Finland's family leave policies and hope this project can help to push for PFML in the U.S.!
Thank you!

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

Rosamunda

Re: Seeking Families to Interview about Paid Family Leave

Post by Rosamunda » Thu Aug 18, 2016 6:46 pm

Could you define exactly what you mean by "paid family leave" as it is not terminology that is in use here?

Are you referring to annual paid leave (usually 5 weeks vacation) or some kind of maternity / paternity leave (a few months on the birth of a child) or parental leave for caring for small children (usually until they are three years old)? Or something else?

Caustic129

Post by Caustic129 » Fri Aug 19, 2016 4:20 am

Great question Rosamunda and sorry for the confusion.