Places to live for a family

How to? Read other's experiences. Find useful advice on shipping, immigration, residence permits, visas and more.
aapochronis

Post by aapochronis » Sun Dec 27, 2020 11:19 pm

Hi everyone, I am new here so I am sorry if the subject has been already discussed.

Me and my wife are thinking of moving to Finland sometime in the next couple of years. We will be doing this for us but also for our children. My wife is from Finland (Espoo) and I am from Greece so we are both EU citizens. I am a psychotherapist by profession, and I also train businessmen to succeed in their lives and businesses. I am in the process of getting my paperwork done with Valvira for professional accreditation in Finland. My wife is a sosionomi (social worker), with also an IT background and currently studying service counseling in a Finnish university as well.

We are thinking of moving to a smaller place, like Nurmijärvi, Kotka or similar because we prefer this kind of life to the one in the big city. Helsinki is not like Athens (Greece) but it is urban and the prices are also quite high when it comes to housing. Any suggestions?
We already have 2 very young kids, so we don't want to raise the costs too much.

Will there be any jobs available for us in a smaller place, or should I aim to take on more clients for online psychotherapy?
Any views or opinions on the matter, please feel free to share.

I should also try to start a business in Finland so that I can be tax ready for transferring my practice from here to there.

Thank you all.

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

FinlandGirl

Re: Places to live for a family

Post by FinlandGirl » Mon Dec 28, 2020 8:33 pm

aapochronis wrote:
Sun Dec 27, 2020 11:19 pm
My wife is from Finland (Espoo) and I am from Greece
My wife is a sosionomi (social worker), with also an IT background and currently studying service counseling in a Finnish university as well.