From UK to Finland action list:

How to? Read other's experiences. Find useful advice on shipping, immigration, residence permits, visas and more.
Chaser

Post by Chaser » Sun May 23, 2021 2:26 pm

Hi all,

Looking to move to Finland with my Finnish national Wife from the UK (I'm British). I'm sure it's in various topics but looking to collate them clearly for what we would need to do prior to moving to Finland. Forms, registrations etc. If anyone can help collate this minefield that would be very much appreciated.

Also I'm an Electrician and if anyone has some great links or contacts to get my qualifications transferred that would be amazing!

Kittos

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

inkku

Re: From UK to Finland action list:

Post by inkku » Sun May 23, 2021 5:28 pm

Just recently there was a thread about foreign educated electricians' qualifications, search for that.

FinlandGirl

Post by FinlandGirl » Sun May 23, 2021 7:01 pm

Chaser wrote:
Sun May 23, 2021 2:26 pm
Looking to move to Finland with my Finnish national Wife from the UK (I'm British). I'm sure it's in various topics but looking to collate them clearly for what we would need to do prior to moving to Finland. Forms, registrations etc. If anyone can help collate this minefield that would be very much appreciated.
https://migri.fi/en/spouse-is-a-finnish-citizen

You can apply for the residence permit after moving to Finland, but then you don't have the right to work before your residence permit has been granted.

If you want to have the right to work immediately after moving to Finland, you should apply for the residence permit a year before your move to get the decision in time for your move.

betelgeuse

Post by betelgeuse » Sun May 23, 2021 10:19 pm

FinlandGirl wrote:
Sun May 23, 2021 7:01 pm
Chaser wrote:

You can apply for the residence permit after moving to Finland, but then you don't have the right to work before your residence permit has been granted.