Moving from the UK - i have several options, which is best?

How to? Read other's experiences. Find useful advice on shipping, immigration, residence permits, visas and more.
hbar

Post by hbar » Wed Jun 23, 2021 10:42 pm

Hi all.

We had our hearts set on Finland a couple of years ago (after several visits) but unfortunately our house sale didn't complete in time and we couldn't move before Brexit happened.

The situation: Married couple, my wife has a degree in plantsmanship (horticulture) and I am a front end web dev who is learning software development. We have two children of primary school age who we want to go to school in Finland, and a new baby.

As i see it, we have some options:

1. I can learn Finnish to a good level and then try to apply for work. I don't have a degree or any formal computing qualifications but a good personal portfolio. I'm worried that it would be basically impossible since i'm up against Finnish people with degrees who are also basically bilingual.

2. I can learn Finnish to a good level and then try to get into university to study for a degree. I feel this is the easiest way, but i'm worried about how long it would take for me to sort visas for my family. I wouldn't want to be accepted and then keep having to defer because of visa problems and i cannot live apart from my family, even temporarily.

3. I can bring a huge chunk of money with me (more than 100k euros) to start a business.

How viable are all of these ideas for actually getting a residency permit and is there anything i've overlooked?

Thanks in advance.

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

betelgeuse

Re: Moving from the UK - i have several options, which is best?

Post by betelgeuse » Thu Jun 24, 2021 9:10 am

hbar wrote:
Wed Jun 23, 2021 10:42 pm
Hi all.

We had our hearts set on Finland a couple of years ago (after several visits) but unfortunately our house sale didn't complete in time and we couldn't move before Brexit happened.