Huge bureaucracy in Finnish Immigration System:(

How to? Read other's experiences. Find useful advice on shipping, immigration, residence permits, visas and more.
sacred_cycles

Post by sacred_cycles » Fri Jan 30, 2004 11:07 am

I never beleived before how stupid & bureaucratic Finnish Immigration system is...

I'm a foreign student (non-EU) in Finland. But I've been living together with my girl-friend (who's a Finn) for 1 year & we've a child together. Based on that I applied to change my status (of residence permit) last May(9 months ago) to local Police. When I applied the said it'll take maximum 5 months for processing. But after 5 months, I got a letter from UVI that they just got my application & they'll process. So, as it's already 9 months I tried to call them (they've 1 pay number for enquiry)..but whenever I call them they just say they r processing & they don't know how long it'll take & they told me to contact the person who's handling my case...but he/she never answers the call.

I'm sure I've no problem with my application bcoz they never asked/contacted from me any additional documents & I think they r just lazy...
Now I'm really disappointed for this long waiting time. How long one can wait?

Do u ppl have any idea where I can complain about this bureaucratic procedure?

Any advice/suggestions is welcomed!

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

Hank W.
The Motorhead

Post by Hank W. » Fri Jan 30, 2004 11:22 am

Average (they claim) is 4 months, but can be 3 years.
Cheers, Hank W.
sitting here like a lemon looking for a gin.

PeterF

Re: Huge bureaucracy in Finnish Immigration System:(

Post by PeterF » Fri Jan 30, 2004 11:29 am

sacred_cycles wrote: Do u ppl have any idea where I can complain about this bureaucratic procedure?

Any advice/suggestions is welcomed!
Here is about the only place that anyone will listen and sympathise..