Planning to move to Finland, need some clarification please

How to? Read other's experiences. Find useful advice on shipping, immigration, residence permits, visas and more.
Blane75

Post by Blane75 » Fri Nov 22, 2019 7:12 pm

Hello,
A little bit of background... I'm a U.S. citizen planning to move to Finland. I'm a musician with good success and demand mainly in the EU so I wanted to move there to further my career by being in a location that is closer to where my working peers and fan-base are. I plan on making my living by performing live music all throughout the EU at clubs, festivals, etc. I have record label and booking agency contacts in the UK, Germany, and the Netherlands mostly. So why Finland? Well I met somebody, a Finnish citizen, who I've been developing a close emotional bond with. I went there for a short stay and things are going really well between us. I loved being in Finland. I felt more at-home there than I ever have in the US. So my decision to move to Finland carries with it what I would consider to be some strong reasons; relationship, career, and personal wellbeing. I've been starting to learn Finnish and plan to become a fluent speaker by route of study and immersion.