Anyone from Tampere?

Useful advice relating to undergraduate and postgraduate studying. Find information on admission, study permits, universities, polytechnics, courses and student life in Finland
Jerz

Anyone from Tampere?

Post by Jerz » Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:42 pm

Hello everyone!

I'm in Tampere right now and looking for any job, I joined my
girlfriend who lives here (she is a Finn) and now my situation is a
little complicated. I come from Poland, so I'm not an EU citizen. I must
find job to be able to stay here, otherwise I must leave in three
months.

Two weeks ago I graduated (MA) from The Warsaw School of Social
Psychology. The subject of my master thesis was "The political
socialization of adolescents in Germany". I've studied one year in
Germany and I speak German well, but my English is unfortunately not so
good. I have some job experiences from Poland, but no international
Practice.

If anyone have any idea which are the possibilities of taking any job
here please write.

Regards,
Pawel

Anyone from Tampere?

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

neil

Post by neil » Fri Jul 25, 2003 1:05 pm

Hi Pawel

Welcome to the group. My advice to you would be to find a job washing dishes or cleaning or something FIRST as that would then 'buy you time' so that you can stay. THEN sort out the 'proper' job after that as it can take some time.

Contact all the restaurants, hotels and bars in the area to see if they need someone. At least once you've got a job it will be easier for you to get an extension on your residence permit. If you dont find anything soon then it will a case of "buckle your seatbelt Dorothy, because Kansas (or in your case Tampere), is going bye-bye (from the Matrix).

Good luck!
Neil

Please add a link to https://www.finlandforum.org

Jerz

Post by Jerz » Sun Jul 27, 2003 8:12 pm

Thank you for answer Neil. I will try to find something, hopefully it is
possible to get something better than washing dishes... but for now I