Opening a bank account

Where to buy? Where can I find? How do I? Getting started.
dun3sb01

Opening a bank account

Post by dun3sb01 » Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:39 pm

I am a non-EU recent resident in Finland, and I would like to create a bank account. However, I am not sure what documents I must provide when visiting the bank. I am interested in opening a bank account with OP, though.

I have the following documents with me:
  • A non-EU Passport
  • A Residence Permit (type A)
  • An ID Card (Henkilökortti)
  • An extract from the population information system in Finland issued by Maistraatti.
For the record, I have not yet being contacted by TE Office, after having registered myself as a JobSeeker +20 days ago, neither have I contacted or visited Kela.

By the way, if I manage to create a bank account with OP, will I be then able to apply for a Kela card online? Or is it obligatory to apply for it at Kela office?

As for TE office, though, how do they normally contact people when their first JobSeeker application is complete?
How much time does it normally take for the integration plan to be initiated?

I'm in Tampere.

Opening a bank account

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

biryvih

Re: Opening a bank account

Post by biryvih » Tue Dec 18, 2018 2:55 am

I am confused, did you just land in Finland? Or???

vla

Post by vla » Tue Dec 18, 2018 3:50 am

I have an appointment for next week. This is what they asked me for (in Nordea):
  • Passport
  • Residence permit card
  • Original employment contract signed by all parties
  • Bank statements from the past three (3) months – Nordea may request to see these
  • A recommendation letter from your current bank – Nordea may request to see this
I will get back to you after the appointment next week (27th) and tell you how it went

deepsudeep

Post by deepsudeep » Tue Dec 18, 2018 8:44 am

I already applied with S bank and they needed my passport, population extract, resident permit and work contract.