Install wooden floor

Useful advice on jobs, careers and entrepreneurship in Finland. Find job postings, job information, work permits and more.
cressers

Install wooden floor

Post by cressers » Mon Sep 10, 2012 11:32 pm

I have empty (ish) apartment 74sqm. I need wooden parquet flooring that needs to be installed throughout.

Does anyone know someone who can install this for a fixed price and how long would be reasonable for a job like this to take?

Install wooden floor

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

momo31

Re: Install wooden floor

Post by momo31 » Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:23 am

Hi I am a carpenter from the Uk and have just moved here a month ago, I have done a lot of floor laying work in the past and would be happy to help, do you have the materials or is this something you want me to include in the price?

Regards

Jay

Mita nyt

Post by Mita nyt » Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:56 pm

Well, if you get someone from the finish union, they will, take way too long. I had some regular finish laminate done only due to apartment would not let me do it. and i grew up in a flooring store, family owned/run. So for 50 square meters it took them (1 guy) almost 3 days of 8 hour shifts. Thats a joke...talk about job security. And yes I moved all furniture 3 different times for this guy. Can you imagine if he moved it? This job should not have taken more then 10 to 12 hrs max, and that would be them doing it all, (moving furniture, trim, cutting doors, etc).

The following I have found from a UK company:

Parquet Flooring Installation (No Border)
Please note, other charges for floor base leveling, finishing, door trimming and skirting boards / beading installation may apply from £33.60 per sqm
Laminate Flooring Installation
Please note, other charges for door trimming and skirting boards / beading installation may apply from £13.20 per sqm

So, in euros it might be a bit lower, say 10% less.

So just a little info....