Aussie moving to Tampere

Useful advice on jobs, careers and entrepreneurship in Finland. Find job postings, job information, work permits and more.
aussiem8

Aussie moving to Tampere

Post by aussiem8 » Thu Jul 18, 2019 8:00 pm

G'day everyone.

I'm an Australian and will be moving to Tampere in September with my Finnish partner. I'm trying to find out realistically what my job opportunities will be like when I arrive. I'm a dual national and have a British passport so I can work for now, but once all this brexit business is finalised I'm guessing I will have to take further measures with residency and work permits.

I'm a qualified school teacher in Australia and have CELTA certification with some experience teaching English as a second language. I understand my school teaching qualifications aren't recognised in Finland so I'm aiming more towards language centres, teaching adults and business English.

I also have over 10 years experience as a piano teacher.

I have worked as professional musician (pianist) in Australia for almost a decade playing with a variety of bands, working as a sessions musician playing everywhere from restaurants to corporate events to festivals to touring internationally. I have heard form colleagues about the cruise ship scene around the baltic sea and will look into that a bit more when I arrive.

I'm always on the looking for music related work, but I know this is far from a viable source of income when I first arrive.

I'm mainly wondering if anyone has any tips, or any past experience being in my situation.... or anything that might be of use really. I have work opportunities online, but that will only really cover my basic living expenses.

Cheers

Aussie moving to Tampere

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

DMC

Re: Aussie moving to Tampere

Post by DMC » Thu Jul 18, 2019 9:24 pm

aussiem8 wrote:
Thu Jul 18, 2019 8:00 pm