Marine Scientist on a move

Useful advice on jobs, careers and entrepreneurship in Finland. Find job postings, job information, work permits and more.
Philipp

Post by Philipp » Sat Feb 22, 2020 4:30 pm

Greetings all! I'm newbie on this forum.
Currently, I create this topic to find any links and network with new relations and suggestions.
I'm doing my PhD in Malaysia, but originally - I'm from Russia and thinking to move from science - probably to industries and companies in Finland to get a job. I was dreaming about Finland for a long time and thinking to move there with my oceanography diplomas and huge motivation. But the problem is - my specific area - Marine Scientist. Academic and University regulations are funded from the grants - and as I understood - they will have problems to allow some postdoc positions for international guy.
So, the question: Are there any marine-ocean-sea jobs to apply in Finland to get a job. I'm ready for any tough periods :) and for sure - in Finland it would be pleasure, but searching the job by yourself without any mentors - it's really hard.
And - again - Greetings to all of you, hopefully I'll be useful in some reasons for somebody)
Patiently waiting for your response :roll:

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

FinlandGirl

Re: Marine Scientist on a move

Post by FinlandGirl » Sun Feb 23, 2020 11:34 am

Philipp wrote:
Sat Feb 22, 2020 4:30 pm
Academic and University regulations are funded from the grants - and as I understood - they will have problems to allow some postdoc positions for international guy.
What is your source for this understanding?
Non-EU citizenship should not be a problem for a paid position at a Finnish university, this is pretty common in some fields.
Philipp wrote:
Sat Feb 22, 2020 4:30 pm
So, the question: Are there any marine-ocean-sea jobs to apply in Finland to get a job. I'm ready for any tough periods :)
How are your Finnish language skills?