IT career in finland

Useful advice on jobs, careers and entrepreneurship in Finland. Find job postings, job information, work permits and more.
Omajenn1234

IT career in finland

Post by Omajenn1234 » Mon Feb 08, 2021 6:04 am

Hey everyone

I need advice about IT career path in Finland
Ill move to finland helsinki after 6 months
im planning to work in the IT field since from what Im reading online its the best option for forei.gners and doesn’t need high level in F.innish usually ,also i dont want to depend on the govt money for too long

I started learning Java one month ago and my plan was to go for the path to be android developer but i have many questions about the situation in Finland

Is it true that IT companies doesnt require FInnish usually for such job

do companies require IT related degree

What is the most available vacancies in general(web , app,...) Should i stay on the path of being android developer or i should look for something else
I was reading the there is huge demand for python language

Should i go to university again to get degree or self / online learning can be enough
Im self learning full time ( 8-12 hours a day)

Is it good idea to enroll in bootcamps such as hives , MOOC
Hives is 3 years full time program which is not encouraging for me since its too long

I really appreciate every advice of you guys

Thank you in advance
Last edited by Omajenn1234 on Mon Feb 08, 2021 2:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

IT career in finland

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

FinnGuyHelsinki

Re: IT career in finland

Post by FinnGuyHelsinki » Mon Feb 08, 2021 8:54 am

Omajenn1234 wrote:
Mon Feb 08, 2021 6:04 am
Is it true that IT companies doesnt require FInnish usually for such job
Depends on the company. If the job requires dealing with customers, as e.g. with consultancy jobs, it's a clear disadvantage to not speak Finnish. If it's e.g. in-house R&D in an already multi-lingual environment, speaking English is enough.
Omajenn1234 wrote: