Layoffs in Finland

Where to buy? Where can I find? How do I? Getting started.
ozil-madrid

Layoffs in Finland

Post by ozil-madrid » Sat Jan 21, 2023 10:58 am

Hi folks,

I have a question about how layoffs work in finland. As you can see in the news all big tech companies are firing people. How does it work in Finland?

1- Do they have to pay you something when they want to release you if the companies financials are still good and they just want to get rid of people? In the US they paid people 4 months and fired them on the same day. What's the process in finland?

2- I am a member of YTK, does it pay same as tek,fi for engineers who get laid off? I am an engineer but i was using YTK as it was cheaper, if tek would pay more and im still not laid off perhaps i should subscribe to the other?

Thanks for your advice.

Layoffs in Finland

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

FinlandGirl

Re: Layoffs in Finland

Post by FinlandGirl » Sat Jan 21, 2023 3:32 pm

ozil-madrid wrote:
Sat Jan 21, 2023 10:58 am
1- Do they have to pay you something when they want to release you if the companies financials are still good and they just want to get rid of people? In the US they paid people 4 months and fired them on the same day. What's the process in finland?
In Finland you have to work and are receiving your normal salary until the end of the notice period, which is likely either 2 weeks or 1 month for you.
ozil-madrid wrote:
2- I am a member of YTK, does it pay same as tek,fi for engineers who get laid off? I am an engineer but i was using YTK as it was cheaper, if tek would pay more and im still not laid off perhaps i should subscribe to the other?
Unemployment benefits are the same, an union like TEK would additionally provide support with questions and lawyers where necessary if you for example doubt that your layoff was lawful.

kalaizanala

Post by kalaizanala » Sat Jan 21, 2023 4:18 pm

ozil-madrid wrote:
Hi folks,