Australia, Finland, and Your Opinion.

Useful advice relating to undergraduate and postgraduate studying. Find information on admission, study permits, universities, polytechnics, courses and student life in Finland
soldrake

Post by soldrake » Sun Jan 22, 2023 5:38 pm

Hello,

I'm from India, thinking of moving and studying in Finland. I completed my bachelors in IT in 2022, now I want to pursue a masters in CS abroad.

For this reason, I chose Finland, a land of a thousand lakes. After doing a lot of research for quite some time I decided that I should go to Finland.
My goal is to learn new & deepen the understanding of CS by completing my masters and get a job there.
So that I can gain diverse and international experience, and contribute to the society.

So, I applied to most of the universities, both in joint and separate applications and now awaiting results.

But, here's my family and relatives come into the picture, they're all firmly saying that I should go to Australia because a lot of folks from my city are going there, and doing quite decently. So, they said I should also go with this flow. But I don't want to.
I want to go to Finland, and I'm not saying this half assed, I've done quite a lot of research for this, and then I made this decision. I know finnish winters are quite harsh, it's always gloomy and dark but I think I'll be able to cope up with it because I like winters and I think I'll like snow too, so Finland - A wonderland in winters and beautiful summers, it's a perfect place for me. And I think this is the perfect country for an introverted person like me.

So what do you all think overall, is Australia better than Finland in terms of good quality life, health care, public transport, job sector?
Will I be able to get a part time job in Finland with a decent pay and then after I complete my masters, will I be able to get a job in the IT sector?
The taxes are quite high in Finland but it comes with many benefits, are those benefits worth it?