I Would Like To Move To Finland...Any Designers Out There?

How to? Read other's experiences. Find useful advice on shipping, immigration, residence permits, visas and more.
honey and the moon

Post by honey and the moon » Sun Jun 11, 2006 10:15 am

Hi guys / Moi.

I'm a 22 year old graphic designer from the UK. I currently study at Doncaster College over here, but would love to move to Finland when me and my girlfriend finish our studies. My girlfriend is Finnish and is from Helsinki and she introduced me to this wonderful country nearly 5 years ago now. Sorry if this sounds sort of sad but whenever I'm there I feel kind of contented. Plus my girlfriend doesn't really like it over here (who could blame her really?), and she'd maybe like to move back home.

Firstly I was wondering if my qualifications are basically acceptable for jobs over there? I have a BTEC National Diploma and I'm about to obtain my BTEC Higher National Diploma and then the year after this I hope to be getting my BA. Would these be acceptable?

I would ask my girlfriend this stuff but she doesn't really know herself.

Also I was wondering if there were any graphic designers out there who had relocated to Finland, how they were doing and if they are enjoying life out there.

Oh and I don't speak any Finnish and I'm finding it quite difficult. I'm going to continue to try to learn it, but if I still struggle (finding a decent teaching tape / CD is awful...), would this matter too much in my field?

Also check out my page for the sort of thing I design...I've been told I could be quite popular over there. The pictures are in my user-pics / blog.

http://www.myspace.com/lookyourlastuponthesun

Any help from you guys would be appreciated.

Thanks very much.
Steve.

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

zoltar

Post by zoltar » Sun Jun 11, 2006 11:56 am

Being a designer in Finland is all the rage so, yeah, there is one on every corner practically.