masters degree in engineering

Useful advice relating to undergraduate and postgraduate studying. Find information on admission, study permits, universities, polytechnics, courses and student life in Finland
aarabi

Post by aarabi » Thu Nov 08, 2007 10:40 am

hi all!

first of all, thanx to all u guyz for the inputs on student permits, job possibilities, etc.

no.2: im an engineering undergrad in India. My field is communication engineering. I want to specialize (masters deg) either in microwave engineering or in wireless communication at the technical univ @ Helsinki.but im in a dilemma as to which one to choose. :?: Personally, both subjects fascinate me and my performance in both at undergrad level has been very good. Is anyone studying these subjects here? i would be glad for inputs.

no.3: i was in touch the university's advisor who told me that about 600 euros per month s d living expenses. could u please give me a split up of these?

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

sinikettu

Post by sinikettu » Thu Nov 08, 2007 11:29 am

Did you study the post that is marked "read this first!"

Especialy this link:

http://finland.cimo.fi/practicalities.html

As it says check all of the left hand panel references.

Then over to your question..
either in microwave engineering or in wireless communication

Microwave work tends to be... Radar = Military/Avionics ...mainly..
OK, there is some work in Short Distance MW data links..but TBOMK only a small amount of practical/commercial work is done in Finland.
Higher degrees often need a commercial sponsor for at least the Professor and the PHd students.
We do not have any Avionics companies and few companies working at MW frequencies to sponsor the work/research/chairs at Universities.

We do however have Nokia, they are working at lower frequencies..Yep, their frequencies are creeping up, but are currently still = .Radio/Wireless . No waveguides etc...yet..