English-speaking internship in Finland

Useful advice on jobs, careers and entrepreneurship in Finland. Find job postings, job information, work permits and more.
Mortson

Post by Mortson » Wed Oct 16, 2013 9:05 pm

Hello all,

I am currently a second year undergraduate studying International Relations at Aston University in the United Kingdom, and am seeking a 12 month English-speaking placement. My Finnish language skills are very basic, but I would hope that a year in Finland would allow me to take some classes and improve. My reason for wanting a placement in Finland is because my girlfriend is a Finnish national, and we hope to live together in Helsinki after I have graduated.

I would like to know the following:
  • Has anyone else done an internship in Finland? If so, which company was it for?
  • Are there any particular companies that are more likely to take on someone who does not speak a great deal of Finnish? Do you work for such a company?
  • If I can't find a placement, would I be better off working in the UK (to get some experience on my CV) or studying in Finland for a year? Would Finnish employers look upon a study placement favourably?
I'm really at a loss about what to do. I know that my language skills (or lack thereof) are going to be a limitation, but I just want to get some feedback on my chances. If there really is little to no chance of getting something, it isn't too late to look for something in my own country.

Thank you very much for your time.
Last edited by Mortson on Sat Aug 26, 2017 9:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Sponsor:

Finland Forum Ad-O-Matic

Sami-Is-Boss

Re: English-speaking internship in Finland

Post by Sami-Is-Boss » Thu Oct 17, 2013 2:53 pm